Kochkäs: What is it? What’s the Deal with the Music? Can I Make it at Home?

Bread with Kochkaes and "music"

Before I left Germany for the United States, I asked my co-workers to share their favorite regional foods. That way, I could make them in the New World to provide some comfort should I get homesick. The overwhelming consensus was that “Kochkäs” (“cooked cheese”) was a must-have, must-make essential. Mit oder ohne Musik (“with or without music”), of course. Though I have lost the original recipe (my apologies to your mother, Jens!), I have never forgotten about it and made it a few times since I’ve left. It always reminds me of simpler times. It reminds me of home.

Please, tell me more… What is it?

Kochkäs(e), also known as Brennkäs(e) (“burn(ed) cheese”) in the Odenwald region, is a very unique yet simple “cheese” made out of Quark, Natron (baking soda/bicarbonate of soda), salt, butter, and egg yolk. “Kochkäs” is simply a dialect for Kochkäse which just means “cooked” cheese and refers to the process of how the cheese is made. Although, rather than being cooked, it is slowly melted over low heat in a water bath after the Quark was treated with baking soda. It yields an amazingly delicious gooey cheese that tastes best spread over a hearty rye bread.

I’m intrigued… What’s the deal with the music?

“Music” simply refers to the side of onion marinade that is made fresh and traditionally served with it. You will find the recipe below. Why “Musik” you may wonder? Well… let’s just say that raw onions are sometimes harder to digest for some which may cause you to make “music”! Gotta love the regional humor!

Instead of the side of onion marinade, the Kochkäs could just be served sprinkled with caraway seeds.

I’m ready… Can I make it at home?

Why, yes you can! While you may live in a place where you can’t get Quark easily (like me in the United States*), there is a workaround that will yield a Kochkäs just as delicious! Use Greek yogurt instead – you want a really thick yogurt to work with. Below is a super easy recipe that tell you how to make the Kochkäs step by step. If you want to see the original texts, just follow the links below.

Go ahead! Dive right in and remember to post a comment below when you’ve made it. Or contact me another way, I’d love to hear from you!!!

*although I have learned that Quark may now be available, I can’t seem to find it just plain, so I will go ahead and keep using Greek yogurt.


Kochkäs (original “Brennkäse”):

Ingredients:

  • 250 g (about 9 oz) Quark/Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 40 g (about 1.5 oz) butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1 egg yolk

Directions:

  • Let Quark/Greek yogurt (GY) drain. (This can be done by suspending the Quark/GY in something like a cloth diaper or a tea towel. Alternatively, you can spoon the Quark/GY into a coffee filter placed in a colander and let drain.)
  • Let drain for at least 3 hours, better is overnight. (Ideally with some weight on top of it. The more liquid is retained, the runnier the cheese will be.)
  • Mix Quark/GY with salt and baking soda and let sit for about 3 hours until the Quark/GY has become almost translucent.
  • Put Quark/GY into a heatproof bowl.
  • Use the water bath method to heat is slowly and stir constantly until it becomes glossy, turns yellow and has some bubbles. This will take about 10 minutes.
  • Take off the heat and add butter pieces while stirring. Make sure the butter is incorporated completely.
  • Then stir in the egg yolk. Be careful not to “cook” the yolk.
  • Let cool and enjoy!

Musik (original recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 300g (about 10.5 oz) onion, very thinly sliced
  • 50 ml (about 1.5 fl. oz) vinegar
  • 50 ml (about 1.5 fl. oz) oil
  • 100 ml (about 3 fl. oz) water
  • Salt, pepper, sugar to taste

Directions:

Mix all of the above ingredients and let the flavors meld together before serving. Best done ahead of time and stored in the fridge.


And there you have it. Delicious Kochkäs that you can serve with a side of Musik!

Guten Appetit!


Wondering how to pronounce those German words? This link will give you some guidance on how to pronounce consonants, vowels, and more!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started